Susan's Place Logo

News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

How to Transition in Melbourne?

Started by RetroFuture, January 18, 2016, 10:57:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RetroFuture

I thought a thread might be useful with general information about the best and easiest/ cheapest ways to transition here not only for me but other people.

About me:
I'm new to this forum but its been very useful for me to view for a long time. :)
Im 20 years old, MTF and moved to Melbourne from NZ a year ago so I am a permanent resident. I have medicare but this means i'm not eligible for a benefit and certain services (I dont know if this will effect transitioning or not).
At the moment, I'm looking for a new job, something art or design related in retail probably so I can settle into my changes and new life as myself. I live with my girlfriend of almost 5 years now and we are very happy together :) I hope one day I can do art or design work for a living, hopefully self employed!

My transition so far:
I've been on hormones for about 5 months, I got my hormone approval letter in NZ before I came over after 5 sessions (I think) over 6 months with a psychiatrist there. It was very straight forward being blunt and open.

It took me a while to get settled here but I found Northside Clinic online and they have been so helpful. They got me started on hormones right away and have a lot of resources and information and I feel very comfortable going there. :)

Laser
I have some savings for transitioning and its time to look into further steps. I plan to start Laser hair removal soon on my face and my GP at Northside Clinic recommended a trans friendly place. Has anyone been here before:
Clinicalase, Shop 2, 220 Elgin St, Carlton, 3053