Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

I Got Fired.....For Being Trans

Started by TG CLare, July 29, 2016, 10:06:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TG CLare

Hello everyone.

A sad and unhappy camper here today.

I began work as a long haul truck transport driver with a company who said at the time they did not care if I was trans, just as long as I could drive a transport truck.

I was fresh out of truck driving school from an 8 week course where I graduated with a 94% average. Passed my road test the first time with a 96% grade and got my licence for 18 wheel transport trucks and commercial buses.

I applied to a good carrier who took me on and passed their comprehensive hour and a half interview, road test, class room work, written exams. I then did 4 weeks long haul with a partner and a week on city runs with a partner. Passed their written exams again and a tough road test with their driver training supervisor then got the keys to my own tractor unit! Finally out on my own with a "shadow" driver in another truck for 2 days in case I had troubles then really on my own.

I have driven over southern Ontario, the eastern and mid west USA and even to Nashville and down as far south as Chattanooga! I would say about 15-20000 miles? (Have not added it up but it's a lot!)

Everything was peachy until 13 July when I took off a trailer clearance light at a customer's yard. No damage to their property and just the light on my trailer. Later that day, an ambulance hits my side mirror knocking it out of alignment while I am stopped to make a turn. He was turning left, I was going right and it was an off ramp and he had no emergency lights on. I reported that to my company too.

In Nashville, I was backing into a customer's dock and my tractor unit knocked the street sign down. I saw by the tire marks I wasn't the first to do that either!