Susan's Place Logo

News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

Transgender ministers?

Started by Danielle Kristina, August 14, 2018, 05:50:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Danielle Kristina

I'm a transgender Christian theology student with the hopes of entering the ministry after graduating.  It's something I've had on my heart for over a decade and three years ago I began going to school to make fulfilling that calling happen.  But here's the kicker - I'm transgender!  It was only in the last few months that I realized it.  It's been with me my entire life, but I ignored it, suppressed it, and pretended like it wasn't real.  I did that until I finally realized I couldn't fight it anymore.  Many Christians and church leaders don't speak too kindly or warmly about LGBTQ people or their issues.  I'm wondering if I even have a chance at a future in ministry as a transgender person.  I could decide to not transition, but my transgender feelings have become stronger than ever and my authentic self is now impossible to ignore.  At the same time my spiritual side is too.  So, do any of you think I have any hope in becoming a transgender minister or would I be fooling myself in think inf that were possible?
April 19, 2018: First post here on Susan's Place
April 27, 2018: First session with my gender therapist
July 30, 2018: Received my HRT letter
September 3,2018: Came our for the first time

Becoming me more every day!!!
  •  

Deborah

It is possible because there are some.  You just need to find the right denomination.  However, at one time I was on that same path. The conflict in my mind finally became too great so I gave it up.

I wish you luck in finding a better way to reconcile it all than I could.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk