Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

SRS surgery

Started by Scott, September 19, 2006, 07:33:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scott

My name is Scott and I'm new to all this. I've never posted anything before. I have questions regarding SRS surgery. I'm looking to see if anyone would be willing to share their thoughts, advice or suggestions involving FtM reconstructive surgery. I've got it narrowed down between 2 surgeons now but am still open to other suggestions. Haven't totally decided on which type of surgery I'm going for. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Scott
  •  

Dennis

Welcome Scott. I think most of the guys here are in the same boat as you, if you're talking bottom surgery.  I'm not at a stage where it's an option for me yet (still got hysto to go, and only 1.5 yrs on T), but I'm leaning toward phallo. The higher complication rate makes me consider meta seriously as well though.

Post an introduction on the Introduction forum if you will, and welcome to the community.

Dennis
  •  

Lori

http://today.reuters.com/news/articlenews.aspx?type=healthNews&storyid=2006-09-19T121444Z_01_L19907340_RTRUKOC_0_US-PENIS-TRANSPLANT.xml&src=rss&rpc=22

If they can do penis transplants can they not figure out how to help FTM's?

This was succesful but the mental problems he had caused to many issues to keep it. Sounds like they were very successful.
  •  

Dennis

Yeah I read that article Lori. If they have worked out rejection problems, it'd be ok. Problem is, usually with transplants, you have to take a massive amount of immune suppression drugs to keep your own body from rejecting the transplant. I don't think I'd take that much of a chance with my health.

However, there is some promising stuff happening with stem cell research that could make transplants a reality some day.

Dennis
  •  

Lori