News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Gender Fluidity and Women's Separate Spaces

Started by emlauren, March 09, 2010, 09:48:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

emlauren

Hello everyone,

I am an undergrad currently working on a research paper about the concept of "separate spaces" and their consequential immutable categories. I specifically want to tailor this subject to discuss separate spaces in lesbian feminist culture. I want to discuss how the concept of "gender fluidity" might take place in this argument. I want to deal with not only the theoretical, but with real-world separatist policies, specifically such as those at the Michigan Womyn's Music Festival.

I would love to hear any and all of your opinions/stories. I have a few questions here, but feel free to pick and choose. If you feel that I have missed something, or should be informed of something else, I would also appreciate that information. Thank you very much!

What is your personal take on the concept of "gender fluidity"? Why do you think this?

For argument's sake, let's assume that gender is fluid. How would the acknowledgement of the fluidity of gender play into the argument surrounding separate women's spaces?

What does this (the acknowledgement of gender fluidity) bring to the debate regarding whether trans women should or should not be excluded from women's spaces?

Thank you very much for your insight! Your opinions are valuable to my research.

I apologize if I use any inappropriate terms on this forum; please feel free to correct me if I do.

P.S. I don't know if anybody will remember me from...oh...a year and a half ago? I believe my screen name was "soleil", and I posted because I was/am a young woman involved in a relationship with a mtf and we were having problems. Things got really sucky for a while and I stopped posting, but now everything is sooo much better! Yay!
  •  

PanoramaIsland