Susan's Place Logo

News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

I have not began HRT, but am looking for legal councel beforehand!

Started by Bird, September 26, 2010, 11:45:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bird

They say its better to be prepared.

So, my situation is thus:

26 years old. Live in Brazil as a male. Will have my first therapy this Wed. I have not began doing anything. The only thing I have managed to have going is a LOT of guts. I am MTF

I am a medicine student, and currently at the 4th year out of six of  my education. I plan on having SRS and getting new ids and everything -after- I graduate. Simply, at the moment I find it would be more convenient because the 5th and 6th years of medical school are REALLY tough and demanding, the "sleeping is a luxury" kind of demanding. I also don't believe I'd have money for electrolysis or FFS should I need it, at the moment.

I am aware that brazilians here must be few, and each country has its own legal procedures. But what should I most likely  do so my legal transition goes as smooth as possible?

I absolutely -must- keep my profession after transition. Not only because I dedicated all of my young life to become a doctor, the financial investment is also high and I will be basically broke after I graduate. All I am going to have going for me to be able to do the other assigments I might need, such as FFS, will be my profession.

So I worry about losing my graduation degree after changing name and gender on my id.

The Federal Council of Medicine in my country is the legal institution that regulates most medical matters, I have sent an e-mail towards them asking for a judicial opinion, but since this is -really- serious, I'd like to know everyone's opinions so I better am prepared to make everything a reality.
  •  

lilacwoman

No idea of the legal situation of sex change in Brazil but there is supposed to be a very big TS percentage in the major cities.