Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Learning an Instrument: Self Teaching, or Lessons?

Started by Yakshini, February 16, 2011, 10:31:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Yakshini

Years ago from about ages 11 to 13, I played the Alto Saxophone. My step-dad did not allow me to continue playing the Saxophone because he considered it to be a noisy, annoying horn. Though I still have the saxophone, it requires some minor repairs like dent repair, buffing out scratches, and new key pads.
I personally consider knowing how to play a musical instrument well to be a very desirable talent to have. I remember the basics of playing the saxophone, but I have been putting some serious thought into picking up my Noisy, Annoying Horn again. There are a few things I have been wondering about learning an instrument when you are no longer in school.
For those of you that are avid musicians, I have some questions.
1. Were you self-taught or did you get lessons from a professional?
2. How would you rate your skill level?
3. What would you say are the benefits of lessons or self teaching?
  •  

tekla

I think the benefit of lessons are that you are more motivated to practice and really work on it rather than shine it on, and you're required to really work the basics, where doing it yourself tends to be a more lax discipline and you want to skip to the fun parts and not do the basics.  But most of the time I walk backstage into the area where the dressing rooms are what I hear are the guitarists running scales and the vocalists doing the training exercises because that's the stuff that makes the good ones good.

I got lessons
I suck
FIGHT APATHY!, or don't...
  •  

Eve of chaos

I self taught myself the guitar. and Im really good at some things but not so great at others. hard to explain but anyway If you can afford It i really recommend lessons. having someone to help you with your personal struggle will be a godsend trust me.