Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Religious practies in the Hijra community?

Started by bjornesparr, October 25, 2005, 03:34:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bjornesparr

Hi, any Indian Hijras out there?
Mabye this is the right forum for my issue?

My name is Erika Björnesparr, I live in Sweden and I'm studying at the University of Sodertorn. My majors are Gender- and Comparing science of religion which makes me very interested in all sorts of questions that stresses identity, power, society, religion, gender and so on.

A little study about religion...

I was very happy to find you on the net and I hope that you could help me. I have previously written a paper about how the academic field write and try to describe the Hijra societies and the gender aspect in India to prepare my self for deeper knowledge about the religious practises of the Hijra community. I find it very hard to find information about the subject of religion among the Hijras. Anthropologist Serena Nanda for example has written some about religious practise but not at all sufficient for me to really understand. I am most interested in the Hijras of India though I have travelled India my self and have at least a clue what India can be about.

E-mail interviews

I like to get in contact with Indian Hijras to make e-mail interviews with various Hijras about religious beliefs and practises. I understand that some are Hindus, some Christians and some Muslims (more?)and that you participate in each others pujas/rituals and such witch really interests me. (You can ofcourse be absolut ananymous in the study if you like!)

I am aware though that there are many names of people belonging to transgenderism in India. (India is big, I know) Therefore of course You can clame your own (Hijra, Kinnar, Ali and more) name when helping me.

I would also like to know if there are literatures you think I should read further to get a true glimpse of the Hijra community.