Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

What is "K-lined"?

Started by Beth Andrea, January 29, 2013, 11:19:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beth Andrea

So I tried to get on chat...was able to get there, briefly. Never been on chat before (never saw a need for it).

While there, I was trying out the emoticons, click, click, double-click, etc watching the various faces etc show up...

Suddenly I got a butt-load of text, at the end of which it said (I paraphrase), "Beth has been disconnected. Reason: K-line."

Most of the text above that was (I felt) a rather nasty verbiage about "not using my chat to advertise", etc.

Hey, I'm new to all this. I have no idea what I did wrong, or didn't do, or whatever.

Please, someone, tell me what "K-Line" means...?

Thanks.
...I think for most of us it is a futile effort to try and put this genie back in the bottle once she has tasted freedom...

--read in a Tessa James post 1/16/2017
  •  

Jamie D

"K-line" is short for "Kill line."  It usually means you have been banned from the server.  The best bet is to contact the Chat Administrator (Flan?) or member of the Chat Staff.

I don't use chat, so I am not totally sure.
  •  

Cindy

Hi Beth,

I've been on chat a few times and got as confused as anything.

The chat staff are really good. Just pm them and explain, I know they will guide you through the protocols etc.

I think -but this is ignorant thinking- chat sites can pull the plug very quickly to keep bandwidth available, so if someone is is exploring and not responding the online Mod will kill the connection to free up width. It isn't any sort of penalty pull, just a management thing.

Hugs Doll

Cindy
  •  

Osiris