Susan's Place Logo

News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

Lutherie (building and repairing stringed instruments)

Started by charanguista, June 25, 2014, 03:34:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

charanguista

•  

V M

Hi Charanguista

Actually there are quite a few folks into Lutherie here, have you taken a peak at the Guitar anyone? Electric or accoustic topic?
The main things to remember in life are Love, Kindness, Understanding and Respect - Always make forward progress

Superficial fanny kissing friends are a dime a dozen, a TRUE FRIEND however is PRICELESS

- V M
  •  

Jill F

F*** me, yet another one?  Are we all MTF luthiers here?   I mean, wow.  Nobody does this, but there are like a dozen luthiers here.  I'm like really creeped out now. LOL.

I was a professional luthier for years and used to regularly collect blank checks from rock stars.  Even today I did a fret dressing, two restrings, and three detailed setups along with a few truss rod tweaks for summer.  I handled about 25 guitars in all today while reorganizing my closets.

What the hell?
  •  

charanguista

Glad to hear there's a few of us on here! :D

I'd love to see some of all of your work. Here are some of my recent builds:

•  

V M

Very nice and rather unique  8)  Would be interesting to hear them played
The main things to remember in life are Love, Kindness, Understanding and Respect - Always make forward progress

Superficial fanny kissing friends are a dime a dozen, a TRUE FRIEND however is PRICELESS

- V M
  •  

Jill F

Well, off to the buffing wheel I go with my pink 1987 Strat Plus body. 

Anyone here ever use Micro-Mesh on frets for polishing?  When you get to the 12000 grit it's almost mirror-perfect, but I like to finish them off with a quick pass of jeweler's rouge on the mini-buffing wheel of my Dremel.  (Do it quckly so you don't heat them up and risk unseating them...)
  •  

Jill F