Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Free speech rights and democracy vs. Intolerance. Where are the boundaries?

Started by suzifrommd, March 19, 2015, 12:51:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

suzifrommd

There's a story on the internet involving a teacher who was suspended for posting anti-gay opinions on her facebook page (that wasn't associated with her job).

I'm torn about this.

As a LGBT activist, I don't like seeing anti-gay opinions.

But as a free-speech advocate, I believe that the right to express unpopular opinions must be protected (providing it's not hate speech) or democracy is threatened.

And as a teacher, I don't like the idea that our jobs should be in jeopardy based on exercising our free-speech rights outside of the workplace. If someone should stumble across some of the sexuality advice (for example) I've given on these forums to distressed members, could they claim that posting details of my sex life where my students can see them violates they trust they put on me as a teacher.

What do people think? Is it OK for a school (or other employer) to take action against an employee who posts something that the employer disapproves of, even if it's in a non-work account and not during work hours?

For reference, here are the comments in question, as posted by CentralJersey.com:

Have you read my short story The Eve of Triumph?
  •  

femmebutt

First, that post looks like it was written by a barely literate person that shouldn't be in charge of educating anybody. And while discriminatory remarks and (healthy?) sexual advice both are a person's right to express, I wouldn't want a known biggot as a teacher. Period. I hope they fire her. Twice. ...use some more...ellipses...idiot...
hybrid
  •  

Beverly

Quote from: suzifrommd on March 19, 2015, 12:51:55 PM