Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Switching therapists (involuntarily)

Started by acd_92, April 30, 2015, 06:04:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

acd_92

My therapist will be away for the summer and he is therefore matching me up with a sort of interim therapist of sorts. This is my first time switching therapists in any way (I was lucky enough to click with mine immediately) - do any of you have experiences with this sort of situation. I'm rather nervous about it! Thanks!
  •  

Mariah

I have never had to switch therapists, but I did have to add an additional one in to be able to get the second letter required for surgery. Going in I really didn't know what to expect with her and when I went back with her for the first appointment I would have sworn you could here I pin drop. She realized I wasn't going to start the session and she decided to instead. True she was only required for a couple sessions to get the letter and we both knew coming in why I was there, but still who knew a room could be so silent for that brief moment. All I can say is be yourself along with being open and honest with the new therapist. I hope it goes well. Good luck and hugs.
Mariah
If you have any questions, please feel free to ask me.
[email]mariah@susans.org[/email]
I am also spouse of a transgender person.
Retired News Administrator
Retired (S) Global Moderator
  •  

iKate

I had to switch as mine last year as said she was ending her NYC practice. But in reality I think she was in over her head with me and I was not happy with her. She recommended two others but I chose another and I'm actually going to see her today.