Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Bilateral orchiectomy

Started by Floritine, February 01, 2016, 11:35:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Floritine

Hi all,

I haven't been on here for a while.
I have a appointment with a Dr later this month in Sydney for a bilateral orchiectomy ( inluding two referal letters needed for this surgury) and I was wondering what are peoples opinions / experience after they have had bilateral orchiectomy and how long recovery was when they got home ?
Also did you stop Spiractin before or after surgury ?
Thanks Tracy
  •  

KayXo

I think you need to stop spironolactone 1 week before surgery due to effect on electrolytes. Check with surgeon and your doctor. Post-op, anti-androgens like spironolactone are not necessary.
I am not a medical doctor, nor a scientist - opinions expressed by me on the subject of HRT are merely based on my own review of some of the scientific literature over the last decade or so, on anecdotal evidence from women in various discussion forums that I have come across, and my personal experience

On HRT since early 2004
Post-op since late 2005
  •  

Steph34

I had crippling pain for a full week after the operation in December, on strong pain medications and unable to get up. Walking was very painful in the second week as well. I still have occasional pain during physical activity if I do not wear loose clothing.

I was not on spironolactone but did continue leuprolide until the very end. My surgeon said to avoid estrogen for one week before and after to reduce the risk of blood clots. In all honesty, I stayed on it until 2 days beforehand - a whole week without estrogen makes me feel like I am dying! Though I was off of it for 6 days afterwards, mainly because I was in so much pain and had gastrointestinal side effects from the surgery; I could not handle it either physically or emotionally.