Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

World Premiere: Orchestral music, dedicated to Leelah & all trans* children

Started by Halcyon, February 26, 2016, 01:10:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Halcyon

Carnegie Mellon University School of Music

https://www.youtube.com/user/CarnegieMellonMusic
There will be a webcast on this youtube channel:

YouTube/Wednesday, March 2nd at 8pm

Carnegie Mellon University School of Music
music.cmu.edu
If you can't find it there (idk how youtube livestreaming works) then music.cmu.edu will have it
Hello all,

I'm a composer of classical music. I have a premiere next week that may interest you.

Empyrean is the first orchestral work dedicated to transgender children. It's being performed by a world-class orchestra (alongside several premieres by my colleagues.)

The premiere concert is next Wednesday, March 2nd at 8pm (US Eastern). My piece is penultimate on the program.

If you can't find it there (idk how youtube livestreaming works) then music.cmu.edu will have it

My work praises Leelah's courage and evokes the tragedy of her story, while highlighting an optimistic vision for the future Leelah called upon the world to create. You may even hear moments that carry both great despair and exalted joy at the same time.

My hope is that this piece inspires audiences to envision taking pride in a willingness to become thoroughly educated on gender diversity and to be generous in giving their empathy.

I really hope you'll tune in! It's going to be a lovely evening, and chatting on the youtube livestream is encouraged. I'm streaming a post-concert talk afterward on my twitter @KaraH<nospam>alcyon via Meerkat where you can chat with me as well.

Please spread the word to friends, family, local LGBT resources, and anyone else you know who may be interested. Let's make the most of this auspicious occasion!

In good spirits,