Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

Exersize pre or post hrt? (MTF

Started by Abby9017, August 12, 2017, 06:42:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Abby9017

Hello Everyone. My name is Abby.
I'm new to this forum though I'll admit I've been running into it through Google for several years now. I searched for this question but couldn't quite find the same question, so I thought I'd just post it myself.
I used to do yoga quite a bit, daily in fact, but due to a recent rough year I had stopped... for a year. I've been wanting to get back into it, but I'm looking to start hormones next month or so and I'm concerned about muscle mass loss, or more so that I want muscle mass loss and I don't want to inhibit this by exercising while on hrt. I'm assuming I'll be starting with anti androgens, and follow this a few months later with estrogen.
Basically my question is, should I wait a few more months before I start doing yoga again? or would it be a good idea to start it soon? would it help my muscle mass loss, or hinder it?
I want more core strength, but I want to be smaller in the shoulder/arm and leg areas.
Thanks guys :)
  •  

Dena

Welcome to Susan's Place. I don't know the answer but I would suspect that continuing  with yoga wouldn't result in excessive muscles. Yoga is more like running were the muscles are used but not pushed to the maximum. As such you develop strength but not bulk. Loss of muscle mass is a slow process and there is a limit as to what your body will lose over time. Besides that, yoga may help you maintain your weight which is also important in maintaining a proper figure.

A Cautionary Note: