Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

The Kingdom of Heaven is Within You. Do you agree?

Started by Rana, August 05, 2006, 08:09:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rana

I have a feeling that I have lived other lives (one other at least :)   ) and it appears that others of us here have had similar experiences that they can remember.
I have a feeling that I was a soldier of the Confederate forces in your Civil War.  No dashing southern gentleman, rather some poor white trash trooper who was too ignorant/stubborn/brave to get moving but held his ground with no choices then left other than to die.  That's all I can identify with,  and in many ways thats a good description of me now :(

What really touches me concerning my religion is Christs life,  the questions he asked (there are only seven I believe) and his parables especially concerning the Kingdom of Heaven.
"The Kingdom of Heaven is like a mustard seed"  "The Kingdom of Heaven is within you"  "The labourers in the vinyard" "The prodigal son" .

The riches of the Kingdom bear no relation to the effort one goes to but are showered on those who prove worthy.

By that very approach even Adolph Hitler could go to Heaven, along with his victims who bore the brunt of his evil with stoicism and faith.  What it would take is that he be truely sorry.

I know this would be offensive to many people (the Catholic notion of purgatory was inspired by such apparent unfairness) but that's the whole point of the parables.  Like in the prodigal son. he was lost but now he is found.