Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Apology

Started by Jessica, July 21, 2005, 09:25:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jessica

I think I owe a lot of apologies.  I have been really self-absorbed into my problems and issues.  I haven't stepped back and looked at how really lucky I have been.

1.  I have loving and wonderful parents that accept me for who I am, and while they don't understand this at all, they accept it.  In a way I am really glad they don't understand it because if they were able to understand it, that means they would have gone through the same craziness that I have, and I would not wish that on my worst enemy.

2.  I have a college degree in a marketable field (unless they really do outsource all the programming jobs overseas)

3.  I have a really good job, granted I do not forsee them allowing me to transition at work because this is Alabama, but, I can do a lot of things and save a really good bit of money until I am ready and do small stuff along the way and then I can change jobs and move.

4.  I have a really great therapist who I really enjoy talking to, not just to be talking and taking active steps towards resolving my feelings, but who I really enjoy talking with because we get along really well.  I feel like I can be open and honest with her without judgement which is really nice.

I don't know how I actually got 'here' but I am here and I have been incredibly lucky to have survived.  For this, today, I am very happy!  It's like, a fish, if she keeps swishing her tail, and follows certain rules, some instinctual, some learned, the following things happen:
1. She goes places
2. She doesn't get eaten.

I have been so self-absorbed that I haven't ever really looked around at the places I have been swimming by.
I am feeling lucky today that I haven't been 'eaten' by life and I realized, I am looking at my life going, holy crap, how did I get here, and I am starting to look around.