Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

Help with Healthcare Communication Project

Started by Holly, November 09, 2006, 04:53:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Holly

Hello everyone.  My name is Holly, and I am Ph.D. student in Communication and a supporter of TS and TG issues.  For the past two years, I have worked on a research project that I hope will facilitate positive changes for the TS and TG communities.  I am entering the second part of the project, and I need your help to make it a success.  My greatest hope is that this portion of the project will open valuable lines of discussion that will prove beneficial for you, too. 

I am studying interactions between TS or TG patients and healthcare providers (doctors, nurses, therapists, or other professionals in the healthcare industry).  I would like to hear your stories about your best and/or worst interactions with healthcare professionals.  The goal of this portion of the study is to gain a better understanding of what your personal experiences can tell us about the communication needs of TS or TG patients in healthcare contexts.  Whether your stories involve issues of privacy and confidentiality, preferred name or pronoun use, (in)sensitivity to physical issues, or any other topics, I hope to uncover which issues and experiences are most important.  I hope that studying your stories, in your own words, will help me to focus the future directions of the study.  I also hope that sharing your stories will spark valuable forum conversations.