News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Hi everyone!

Started by (miss)understood, March 07, 2011, 06:28:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

(miss)understood

Greetings!

I've been a lurker for a while, and finally had the "courage" to sign up...I'm not that good at writing introductions and there are some things that I don't feel comfortable sharing publicly (at least yet), but I'll try to write something.

I'm an adult, but I do beg to disagree about being a "guy"; I guess I've always been a bit more girlish than boyish, but it really hit me when puberty started...I honestly don't know what I was expecting, but I do know that I don't want to be "one of the guys". It's like living in another country without speaking or understanding the local language at all. It feels just so weird when people expect me to be able to fix cars or lift heavy things or something like that. I have a driver's license and I can drive a car, but I don't know how to fix a broken one -- that's why there are professionals! Or "you can't like X because you're a guy"...stereotypes like that are just stupid and harmful in my opinion. (Why yes, Sex and the City happens to be my favorite TV show!  ;D)

Some years ago I stumbled upon BBC's brain sex ID test and the result was hardly surprising, it just confirmed what I already knew: I'm more female than male, at least when it comes to brains. Last year I did it again and surprise, got the same results. Still, it's been very hard to accept that I'm not "normal". Maybe it's related to the way the general public feels about trans people; the people in this country (an European country) are becoming more and more accepting towards gays and lesbians, but transsexuals are seen as something weird and scary.