Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Passing concern. My balding head!

Started by Thylacin, October 10, 2013, 09:45:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thylacin

Hey! Sorry if this thread is in the wrong section. I figured this seemed like the best fit.

One of my biggest concerns when thinking of passing is my hairline and the thinness of my hair on the top of my head. I'm not even 30 yet and the scalp shows through my hair on the top of my head very clearly. I know that wigs are an option, but it would be so great to have my own hair.
I'm still very early in this whole process of transitioning, and I'm working on one thing at a time. I'm pre-everything at this point. (could hrt help too?)

I was wondering if anyone with a similar concern has tried Minoxidil (rogain) and had significant re-thickening of the hair. I've been using it for a couple months and have yet to see any sign that it's doing anything (although it can take 4 months to work). I'm worried that I may not be using enough, or that since my hair is longish, it might just be staying on the hair and not absorbing into my scalp enough.

I've also read that castor oil, or certain anti-dandruff shampoos can help as well.

So, did anyone on here begin with very thin hair and end up with something significantly better after trying some treatments? It would be great to hear about :)

I've linked to an image to show the level of thinning for reference.

•  

Paige

Thanks for posting this Thylacin.  I'm also very interested to hear people's experiences with minoxidil while on HRT and how well hair transplants have worked.  By the way my thinning is much worse than yours. :-)
  •  

SciNerdGirl

Quote from: Thylacin on October 10, 2013, 09:45:54 AM