Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Help with attachment

Started by Valeriedances, March 23, 2011, 06:33:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Valeriedances

I am new to the Buddhist way. Can you give some guidance on how to let go of attachment, from a ts perspective?

In the past year, dating has proved difficult with rejection. At times, I am able to practice letting go of those emotions with breathing exercises and viewing the troubling situation from the third perspective of my higher self. Other times I am caught up in the loop of replaying the rejection with the view of judgment. When that happens, the loop can play for several days before it passes.

Letting go of attachment would be extremely useful for me as the clinging to what I perceived as my need is painful and holding me back from enjoying life more fully.

kindly,

Valerie
  •  

Padma

The main thing I'd say (and I'm just being a representative of me, here) is: it's a practice. So it's something we start out less skilled at, and become more skilled at over time. And what we're working/playing with is a habit - habits have momentum, so it's not surprising that they take time and energy to change, and it's okay if they don't change overnight.

The important thing is to be aware, and to be kind - in fact, neither of those really works without the other, since we have to be kind enough to bear the "imperfections" we're becoming aware of. Because the most important thing about this is that we don't get caught up in thinking we "have to transform ourselves" because we're not good enough as we are - that's just attachment wearing a different outfit :). Seems paradoxical? It is!